Built in 1796 and founded in 1514, Trinity House is the headquarters of the General Lighthouse Authority for England, Wales, the Channel Islands and Gibraltar.
Trinity House is the working home of the General Lighthouse Authority and the Corporation of Trinity House, a registered charity dedicated to providing education, support and welfare to the seafaring community. It is located a short walk from the Tower Hill underground station and stands behind a distinctive cobbled railed pavement (which has ‘starred’ in several films and TV productions). Providing direct views of the Tower of London, the Georgian exterior overlooks Trinity Square Gardens and has the Four Seasons 10 Trinity Square Hotel as a neighbour. Aldgate and Monument stations are within easy walking distance and major rail links are a short taxi ride (with the London City Airport is approximately five miles away/a 20-minute drive).

Behind the building’s imposing neo-classical façade, designed by Samuel Wyatt in 1794, are five graceful banqueting and conference rooms. The oval-shaped Library is the venue’s most spacious room seating up to 130 (180 standing) and features a minstrels’ gallery and beautiful 16th and 17th stained glass windows. The room houses a fascinating collection of antique silver and its elegant proportions and dramatic view of the Tower of London make it a uniquely English setting for important occasions. Accommodating up to 130 standing and 60 seated, the south-facing Court room has the character of a salon in a great country house, dominated by a spectacular allegorical blue trompe l’oeil ceiling. Three smaller chambers (the Luncheon, Reading and Pepys rooms) are located off these two main areas and provide excellent break-out rooms. Featuring a particularly elegant Reception Hall leading to an unusual twin-curved staircase, Trinity House showcases many remarkable maritime artefacts – including the brass bell from the Royal Yacht Britannia – that bear testament to the prominent role it has played in the nation’s maritime history.

In its 200-year history the building has welcomed royalty, prime ministers and Lords of the Admiralty and is today managed by Deputy Master Captain Ian McNaught. Reflecting the ongoing patronage of the Crown, the Master of the Corporation is HRH The Princess Royal, filling a role held in former centuries by, among others, the diarist Samuel Pepys, the Duke of Wellington, William Pitt and, more recently, HRH The Duke of Edinburgh.

  • Seating 130 & Standing 180
  • East London/City
  • Wedding license